City Commission

New City Commission


DeLand will remain a city whose diverse citizens demonstrate a strong sense of community. The City will remain dedicated to preserving and enhancing those assets which make DeLand distinctive. We, as citizens of DeLand, will continue to strive to maintain DeLand's heritage as the "Athens of Florida."


The government as set forth in the City Charter is a "commission-manager" government. The City Commission is comprised of five Commissioners, one of who is elected as the Mayor-Commissioner, all are elected from the City at large.

  • The Mayor-Commissioner presides over meetings of the Commission and serves as the ceremonial head of the government.
  • The City Commission determines policy in the areas of economic development, planning, traffic, law and order, fire prevention and suppression, public works, parks, recreation, finance, utilities, and airport operations.
  • The City Commission appoints and removes the City Manager, City Attorney and City Clerk.
  • The City Commission adopts a budget, levies taxes, collects revenues and makes appropriations and authorizes the issuance of bonds.
  • The City Commission determines policy by adopting ordinances and resolutions, appropriating moneys, and exercising other essential legislative duties.


  • 7 p.m.
  • 1st and 3rd Monday of the Month
  • City Commission Chambers, City Hall
    120 S Florida Avenue
    DeLand, FL 32720
  • Live Streaming is available only during the meetings.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available for viewing the Friday before the meeting. Minutes are available following approval.